Screen-sharing allows users to display their desktop to other members of a video call.
PC & Mac users can share their screen with other PC & Mac users. Mobile users cannot see a shared screen, and they cannot share the screen of their mobile device.
In order to share your screen, you must have an internet connection with 512K upload and a strong computer (a dual core CPU is recommended). In order to conserve resources, it is recommended that you close all applications that are not in use. The 0.5 frames-per-second rate can be selected from the Video Call settings to reduce the computer resources and Internet bandwidth used during screen sharing.
To share your screen:
- Start your ooVoo video call.
- Hover your cursor over the top of the video window frame to display options.
- Click Actions > Share Screen.
- Click Share Screen to display your desktop. You can share PowerPoint presentations, documents and web pages. Sharing video clips is not recommended with this feature.
When you screen-share, your video windows will be resized as a sidebar on the right side of the page. Your shared screen will become enlarged and framed in red. Everyone on the call will also see this view.
- During a video call, click . A popup message will appear to let you know that your screen will be viewed by all participants.
- Click OK. If the video call window is in the standard view, it will be automatically changed to sidebar view to display your screen.
- To close the screen-sharing session, click Stop Sharing. The standard view returns.
To participate in a screen sharing session:
- When someone on your call shares their screen with you, you will notice that your video call window will be automatically changed to the sidebar view. If you have minimized your video call window, a tab will flash in the task bar notification area.
- PC users can click on the size menu button in the upper left area of the screen to change the size of the screen as follows:
- Fit to size: The shared screen will fill the allotted area.
- Actual size: The shared screen will appear at its actual size. This may improve clarity and eliminate distortion.
- Full screen: The shared screen will fill the entire screen. To return, press Esc on your keyboard.